Boxing

WBA Super World super bantamweight champion Guillermo Rigondeaux (18-0, 12 KOs) will have his 1st round knockout win over his mandatory challenger Moises “Chucky” Flores (25-1, 17 Kos) overturned and changed to a no decision by the Nevada State Athletic Commission, according to Dan Rafael.

The reason the Commission will be changing the outcome of the contest is because Rigondeaux’s knockout came after the bell had sounded to end the 1st round. Upon review of the fight, the Commission observed that Rigondeau’s left-hand knockout blow came after the 1st round had ended.

Read more ...

If Andre Ward’s trainer Virgil Hunter gets his way, Ward will be fighting for a heavyweight world title in his next fight against IBF/WBA champion Anthony Joshua (19-0, 19 KOs). Hunter says he sees it as a waste of time for Ward to move up to the cruiserweight division.

He thinks it’s a better idea if the 33-year-old Ward moves up 2 divisions to fight Joshua at heavyweight. Indeed, moving up one division to cruiserweight could spoil it for Ward if he’s looking to get a big payday fight against the unbeaten Anthony Joshua. Ward would have his hands full at cruiserweight against the top echelon fighters Mairis Briedis, Murat Gassiev, Denis Lebedev and Oleksandr Usyk.

Read more ...

Andre Ward (32-0, 16 KOs) put on a low blow clinic in stopping former light heavyweight champion Sergey “Krusher” Kovalev (30-2-1, 26 KOs) in the 8th round on Saturday night at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

In watching the replay of the stoppage, Kovalev said, “Low blow, again, low blow. I don’t know why they stopped the fight. I want to get another fight. I’ll kick his [expletive]. I want to get a rematch again.”

Read more ...

Undefeated light heavyweight contender Dmitry Bivol (11-0, 9 KOs) destroyed former world title challenger Cedric Agnew (29-3, 15 Kos) by a 4th round technical knockout on Saturday night at the Mandalay Bay Event Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Bivol, 26, was hitting Agnew at will in the corner when the referee stepped and stopped the one-sided contest. Agnew’s right eye was swollen, and he was just covering up and not even trying to fight.

Read more ...