Responders, Cavaliers take opener

Responders, Cavaliers take opener

Responders, Cavaliers take opener

Responders, Cavaliers take opener

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Google Plus

THE Philippine National Police, Armed Forces of the Philippines and Department of Justice clinched important wins on opening day of the UNTV Cup Executive Faceoff last Sunday at the Pasig Sports Center.

In the curtain raiser, the PNP Responders continued their dominant performance from the Season 5 finals series as they crushed the Bureau of Customs Transformers, 82-37.

Three players scored in double figures for the Responders as they zoomed to a 19-9 lead at the end of the first quarter and continued to build on the lead throughout the game. 

SAF P/Supt. Dexter Vitug led the way for PNP with 14 points, 4 rebounds, 2 blocks and 1 steal. 

Meanwhile, the AFP Cavaliers figured in an upset victory over the Senate Sentinels, 88-69, in the second game. 

The Sentinels consistently led throughout the first three quarters anchored on Senator Joel Villanueva’s big 28-point performance and even brought the lead to as much as 12 two times before the Cavaliers turned on their pressure defense in the fourth to turn the tide and secure the win.

Brig. Gen Gener Del Rosario played a pivotal role in AFP’s upset win with 20 points, 6 rebounds and 2 steals.

In the final game, the DOJ Boosters gained an all-important 56-50 win over the Judiciary Magis. 

The Justice Boosters weathered a joint 30-point output from Judiciary’s one-two punch of Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez and Floridablanca Pampanga Presiding Judge Wendell Ramiterre with their balanced offensive attack.

Lipa City OIC City Prosecutor Nonilon Tagalicud had an impressive, all-around performance of 12 points, 5 rebounds, 6 steals, 4 assists and a block to carry the Justice Boosters to victory. 

The UNTV Cup Executive Faceoff is an offseason basketball tournament and the brainchild of UNTV President and CEO Dr. Daniel S. Razon for high-ranking government officials aged 40 years old and above. The Champion will receive a grant of 1 Million Pesos for their chosen beneficiary.

First Game 

Quarter Scores: 19-9, 39-20, 64-26, 82-37

Box Score:

PNP – I. Dickson 17, D. Vitug 14, P. Limbauan 13, A. Sintin 6,  J. Aguillon 6, P. Phillips 5, C. Empiso 5, O. Albayalde 4, C. Cascolan 4, B. Lunsad 4, J. Ramos 4

BOC – R. Crisol 15, R. Bergado 11, H. Torres 6, N. Ecarma 4, J. San Andres 1 

Second Game

Quarter Scores: 12-18, 30-37, 51-57, 88-69

Box Score:

AFP – G. Del Rosario 20, K. Grajo 18, E. Abutin 14, O. Velino 11, J. Paulo 11, C. Catubigan 10, D. Macasaet 3, V. Bayani 1

Senate – J.  Villanueva 28, W. Tan 11, J. Flaminiano 9, R. Golding 4, L. Ong 4, B. Navea 3, R. Sison 3, S. Dela Cruz 2, H. Alinsug 2, R. Dascil 2, J. Galeta 1

Third Game

Quarter Scores: 9-10, 21-31, 49-38, 56-50

Box Score:

DOJ – N. Tagalicud 12, J. Aldovino 10, J. Gaurano 8, J. Garnale 6, A. Daguso 4, C. Garvida 4, R. Tomas 4, R. Munsayac 3, E. Labao 2, D. Africa 2, A. Suarez 1 

Judiciary – J. Marquez 16, W. Ramiterre 14, I. Ramoso 5, J. Montesa 4, R. Paras 4, D. Sevilla 4, R. Bacolor 2, V. Raul 1