GM Joey Antonio rules Torrevillas chess cup

GM Joey Antonio rules Torrevillas chess cup

GM Joey Antonio rules Torrevillas chess cup

GM Joey Antonio rules Torrevillas chess cup

Article Index

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Google Plus
by Marlon Bernardino

Final Standings (Open division)

8.0 points--GM Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr.

7.5 points---IM Ronald Dableo, FM Nelson Villanueva, Allan Cantonjos, John Christian Lasaca, IM Oliver Dimakiling

7.0 points---NM Edsel Montoya, NM Merben Roque, Rommel Ganzon, Jimmy Ty Jr., Melvin Merellos, Allan Salientes

6.5 points--IM Joel Pimentel Jr., Recarte Tiauson, Anthony Makinano, Capa Angustia

13-time Philippine Open champion Grandmaster Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr.played Fide Master Nelson Villanueva to a draw to rule the 2nd Torrevillas Knights Cup Open Rapid chess tournament held at the Samar College in Catbalogan City, Samar Wednesday night.

The Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro native Antonio collected eight points in seven wins and two draws to win the nine round tournament.

He received P50,000 cash prize in this one-day National Chess Federation of the Philippines sanctioned tournament, organized by Atty. Manuelindo Josef A. Torrevillas, being held in celebration of the Feast of Saint Bartholomew 2019, backed up by Torrevillas Knights in cooperation with the Catbalogan City Chess Club and the Hermano Mayor of the Feast of Saint Bartholomew 2019.

International Master Ronald Dableo split the point with Allan Cantonjos to create a five-way tie for second that includes FM Villanueva, Cantonjos, John Christian Lesaca and International Master Oliver Dimakiling.

Lesaca toppled Jayson Salubre while Dimakiling beat fellow International Master Joel Pimentel. Jerish Jonh Velarde won the junior plum.

Meanwhile, Karylcris Clarito Jr.took the kiddies 12 years old and below title with 6.5 points followed by solo second place Cyrus James Damiray with 6.0 points and third placer Kenneth Cris Alican with 5.5 points.

Mar Aviel Carredo led the group of five pointers that includes Linard Chrineo, Ronnie Ysmael Calavdores, Frances Galathea Gerente, Matt Dinielle and Vincent Dasal. National Arbiters Alfredo Chay and Alexander Dinoy of the Chess Arbiter Union of the Philippines supervised the said chessfest.-Marlon Bernardino-