UAAP Season 84 Men's Basketball: UP vs Adamson

UAAP Season 84 Men's Basketball: UP vs Adamson

UAAP Season 84 Men's Basketball: UP vs Adamson

UAAP Season 84 Men's Basketball: UP vs Adamson

Adamson University stopped University of the Philippines' eight-game winning streak, hacking out a 66-58 victory in the UAAP Season 84 men's basketball tournament, Thursday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

The Soaring Falcons in the process increased their winning run to three games after incurring a five-game slump to create a three-way logjam for fourth with Far Eastern University and National University, all at 4-6.

After two conversions from the line by Ricci Rivero on the other end, Adamson captain Jerom Lastimosa stepped back at the top of the key and swished a triple for the five-point lead with 23.2 seconds to go, 62-57.

In the ensuing play, UP's Zavier Lucero hoisted a trey of his own but missed, forcing them to foul Keith Zaldivar. Simultaneously, though, Soaring Falcon Ricky Peromingan was called for a technical foul for unsportsmanlike behavior resulting in a freebie for Rivero, 58-62, with 17.9 ticks left.

Zaldivar and Lastimosa then put the nail in the coffin from the charity stripe for the huge win.

"We were able to beat a powerhouse team, nakakatuwa lang. I think our players deserved that, mabigat 'yung pinagdaanan," said Adamson head coach Nash Racela. "This is a good timing for wins."

Lastimosa ended with 13 points, including eight in the payoff period, to go with five rebounds, four assists, two blocks, and a steal in another all-around display.

Didat Hanapi added 12 points while Joem Sabandal chipped in 11 points, five rebounds, and five assists.

Rivero tallied 14 points and five rebounds, while Carl Tamayo had 12 points and eight rebounds as the Fighting Maroons fell to 8-2, still alone at the second spot. The two combined a woeful 8-of-27 from the field.

Adamson will aim for four straight on Saturday against the struggling Growling Tigers at 10 am. Meanwhile, UP will clash with third seed De La Salle University at 4:30 pm.

The Scores:

Adamson 66 -- Lastimosa 13, Hanapi 12, Sabandal 11, Manzano 8, Zaldivar 8, Magbuhos 6, Peromingan 5, Colonia 2, Yerro 1, Douanga 0, Jaymalin 0, Erolon 0, Barasi 0.

UP 58 -- Rivero 14, Tamayo 12, Diouf 7, Lucero 7, Cagulangan 6, Cansino 5, Spencer 4, Webb 3, Alarcon 0, Abadiano 0, Fortea 0.

Quarterscores: 20-12, 36-28, 47-44, 66-58. (Dennis Lachica, Sportsmanila Photojournalist)