LOS BANOS, LAGUNA -- University of Santo Tomas (UST) pulled off an impressive showing in Day 2 of the UAAP Season 82 Swimming Championships to keep the lead in the Girls' Division while snagging it from De La Salle Zobel in the Boys' Division, Friday at Trace Aquatic Center here.
It is a close battle between UST (182.50 points) and De La Salle Zobel (172.50 points) for the Boys' Division title. However, in the distaff side, UST (193 points) now enjoys a 49-point advantage over University of the Philippines (144 points).
Rounding up the top three after the second day of action are DLSZ with 118 points in the Girls' Division and Ateneo in the Boys' Division with 104 points.
UST's CJ Arceo took the team's first gold in the 50m Breaststroke, a medal he has to share with DLSZ's Aki Lorbes. Both swimmers completed the distance in 31.05 seconds. Rookie Jules Mirandilla added another gold for UST as he topped the 100m Butterfly in 57.48 seconds.
Reigning Girls' Division Most Valuable Player Camille Buico of UST bagged her third gold of the season in the 100m Butterfly with a new UAAP record of 1:03.45, breaking her own mark last year of 1:03.91.
Francheska Baccay (4:47.89) and Alyza Ng (4:50.72) also contributed a gold and a silver medal to UST after their 1-2 finish in the Girls' 400m Freestyle.
The Junior Tiger Sharks then finished the day in dramatic fashion after both their 400m Freestyle Relay teams took the gold in UAAP-record fashion.
The Boys' squad of Mikhail Cruz, Merell Neri, Luis Reyes, and Reagan Garbanzos finished the distance in 3:47.86, smashing the old mark set by former UST swimmers two years ago. Honey Escarez, Jade Guevarra, Alexandra Bonite, and Kyla Managuelod also set a new UAAP standard of 4:15.33 in the conquest of the Girls' Division.
Last year's Boys' Division MVP Wacky Santos of Ateneo continued his own individual dominance, taking his third and fourth gold medals. He completed the 400m Freestyle in 4:17.47 and 200m Backstroke in 2:08.09.
Meanwhile, UP's Zoe Hilario bagged her second gold of the season after winning the 200m Backstroke in 2:29.79, while DLSZ's Bela Magtibay edged out Hilario for the 50m Breaststroke mint at 35.86 seconds.PR

National University annexed its fourth consecutive Women's Championship via 6-0 sweep in the UAAP Season 82 Taekwondo Tournament at the Blue Eagle Gym Friday.
The Lady Bulldogs hurdled their biggest threats in the final day of competition, beating University of Santo Tomas, 5-2, and University of the Philippines, 4-3, to complete a perfect season.
In her final year with NU, bantamweight Baby Jessica Cabanal, a 2015 Rookie of the Year from Bicol, emerged as the season MVP.
"Sobrang saya po kasi sa whole four years na laban, lahat po iyon champion na kasama ko sila," said Cabanal.
The Lady Tiger Jins finished second with a 5-1 mark, while the Lady Maroons reached podium after going 4-2 in the three-day meet.
"UP and UST, talagang challenging," said Cabanal.
The Lady Bulldogs are the league's third-winningest team behind UST's 12 and De La Salle's 6.
Leaving a legacy behind by steering NU to become the new power in women's taekwondo, Cabanal hopes that her teammates will continue to strive for excellence to remain in the throne.
"Mag-training po sila ng mabuti at makinig po sila sa coaches. At magtiwala sila sa sarili," said Cabanal.
The Tigresses rebounded from the loss to the Lady Bulldogs with a 7-0 romp of the Lady Green Jins.
After the defeat to NU, UP ended its campaign with a 5-2 conquest of University of the East to clinch third place.
Aside from Cabanal, flyweight Veronica Garces was the other gold medalist for the Lady Bulldogs.
Rounding out the gold medal winners were UP's Amber Acosta (finweight) and Beatrice Gaerlan (featherweight), UST's Realis Lorena Tabiando (lightweight) and Laila Delo (middle/heavyweight), and Far Eastern University's Chlouie Bolinas (welterweight).PR

REIGNING three-time champion National University and University of Santo Tomas continue to share the lead Thursday in the UAAP Season 82 Women's Taekwondo tournament at the Blue Eagle Gym.
The Lady Bulldogs improved to 4-0 following identical 6-1 victories over De La Salle and Far Eastern University.
Read more ...

THREE-PEAT seeking National University became the only undefeated team in the UAAP Season 82 men's taekwondo tournament Thursday at the Blue Eagle Gym.
The Bulldogs dominated Far Eastern University, 7-0, and University of the East, 7-0 to extend their perfect run to four.
De La Salle and University of Santo Tomas are in joint second with 3-1 cards.
The Green Jins scored a 5-2 win over the Red Warriors and a 6-1 victory over University of the Philippines.
The Tiger Jins continued their rise from a season-opening loss with identical 7-0 romp of Ateneo and UE. UST's loss came from the hands of De La Salle.
After opening the season at 2-0, the Warriors lost two in a row in Day 2 to drop to fourth place.
The Fighting Maroons and the Blue Eagles are in joint fifth with 1-3 records while the Tamaraws are the lone winless team at 0-3.(PR) 



National University stamped its class by completing a 6-0 sweep in the UAAP Season 82 men's taekwondo tournament Friday at the Blue Eagle Gym.  The Bulldogs defeated University of Santo Tomas, 6-1, and University of the Philippines, 7-0, to annex their third consecutive title. 

Featherweight Sturdy Jay Gilbuena, a 19-year old former Asian Juniors Taekwondo campaigner from Nasipit, Agusan del Norte, was named the Rookie-MVP.

Read more ...

LOS BANOS, LAGUNA - La Salle leaned on the masterful performance of Southeast Asian Games–bound Sacho Ilustre and the rest of its swimmers, grabbing the top spot after Day 1 of the UAAP Season 82 Men’s Swimming Championships, Thursday at Trace Aquatic Center here.
Read more ...