GM Laylo cops Santos chess crown

Latest News

Latest Reviews

Lina transfers to UP, applies for VAAS program

Former Gilas Pilipinas Youth stalwart Bismarck Lina is working on his transfer to University of...

Battle of the Tzy part 2 and mid-table battles in Week 6 of MPL - PH Season 7

Mobile Legends Professional League Philippines Season 7 returns to its original three-day setup...

Ex UST cagers Mark Nonoy & Deo Cuajao join Green Archers

Ex UST cagers Mark Nonoy & Deo Cuajao formally committed to La Salle in meeting with DLSU team...

Popular News

Pangilinan depressed over frat’s attempted murder

A grandson of Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan is suffering from severe depression now after news of...

Vasyl Lomachenko vs. Orlando Salido II targeted for early August

The rematch between WBO super featherweight champion Vasyl Lomachenko (8-1, 6 KOs) and former two...

Cris Cyborg cashes $500,000 for first title defense

UFC women’s featherweight champion Cris Cyborg led the disclosed payroll at UFC 219, earning...

GM Laylo cops Santos chess crown

by Marlon Bernardino
Grandmaster (GM) Darwin Laylo ruled the Baby Uno Chess Challenge dubbed as Police Col. Jaime Osit Santos chess championship (Individual Open To All Title Master) held at the over the weekend.

The San Roque, Marikina City resident Laylo defeated National Master (NM) Jasper Rom in the penultimate round then halving the point with National Master (NM) Elwin Retanal in the final round to notch 12 points on account of 10 wins, four draws and one loss to win the 15 round swiss tournament in the event organized by Bayanihan Chess Club headed by NM Almario Marlon Bernardino Jr. and Genghis Katipunan Imperial and hosted by Police Col. Jaime Osit Santos, chief of Police of San Juan City.

"Masaya ako sa pagkapanalo kong ito," said Laylo, playing under the banner of multi-titled Philippine Army chess team.
National Master (NM) Leon Marohom edged International Master (IM) Petronio Roca and Woman Fide Master (WFM) Allaney Jia Doroy in the last two round to score 11 points on account of 11 wins and four loses and take home the runner-up prize.
International Master (IM) Michael Concio Jr., and National Master (NM) Noel dela Cruz tallied identical 10.5 points apiece to share the third and fourth place.

In solo fifth is reigning IPCA World Champion Fide Master (FM) Sander Severino who tote 10 points.
Rounding up to the top 10 were National Master (NM) Rolando Andador (6th), National Master (NM) Rolzon Roullo (7th), International Master (IM) Petronio Roca (8th), Arena Grandmaster (AGM) Dandel Fernandez (9th) and International Master (IM) Ronald Dableo.

Adjudged category winners were WFM Allaney Jia Doroy (top lady), NM Jonathan Tan (top Under 2400), NM Jasper Rom (top Under 2300), US master Jose "Jojo" Aquino (top Under 2200), guest player Police Colonel Jaime Osit Santos (top Under 1900) and NM Alexander Lupian (lucky 20). The three minutes blitz chess tournament will resume this Saturday.-Marlon Bernardino-
A file photo shows Police Colonel Jaime Osit Santos and Bayanihan Chess Club co-fonder Genghis Katipunan Imperial.