Labog wins Nueva Ecija Open chess

Latest News

Latest Reviews

Lina transfers to UP, applies for VAAS program

Former Gilas Pilipinas Youth stalwart Bismarck Lina is working on his transfer to University of...

Battle of the Tzy part 2 and mid-table battles in Week 6 of MPL - PH Season 7

Mobile Legends Professional League Philippines Season 7 returns to its original three-day setup...

Ex UST cagers Mark Nonoy & Deo Cuajao join Green Archers

Ex UST cagers Mark Nonoy & Deo Cuajao formally committed to La Salle in meeting with DLSU team...

Popular News

Pangilinan depressed over frat’s attempted murder

A grandson of Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan is suffering from severe depression now after news of...

Vasyl Lomachenko vs. Orlando Salido II targeted for early August

The rematch between WBO super featherweight champion Vasyl Lomachenko (8-1, 6 KOs) and former two...

Cris Cyborg cashes $500,000 for first title defense

UFC women’s featherweight champion Cris Cyborg led the disclosed payroll at UFC 219, earning...

Labog wins Nueva Ecija Open chess

by Marlon Bernardino
International Master Eric Labog Jr. (6.5/7) capped another memorable campaign with a final-round draw against Sherwin Tiu to capture the title in the Danilo Lopez Memorial Open Chess Tournament held at the lower ground, SM Megacenter in Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija last Sunday, March 1, 2020.

International Master Michael Concio Jr., Sherwin Tiu, Ricardo Batcho, Virgen Gil Ruaya and Romulo Curioso Jr. wound up tied for second with 6 points apiece but the former edged in the tiebreaker in this tournament organized by Cabanatuan City Chess Club headed by Dr. Gener S. Subia, Mr. Benjamin S. Bauto and Dr. Bernie C. Sadey in memory of the late Danilo Lopez, one of the best player in Nueva Ecija province .

Rounding up the top 21 with 5 points each were Fide Master Christopher Castellano (7th place), Alexis Emil Maribao (8th place), Mc Dominique Lagula (9th place), Fide Master David Elorta (10th place), Jonathan Jota (11th place), Johan Ranel Morazo (12th place), International Master Roanld Bancod (13th place), National Master Jake Dela Cruz (14th place), Albert Yu (15th place), National Master Alcon John Datu (16th place), Francis Eugene Dimarucut (17th place), Neymark Digno (18th place), Frederick Ramos (19th place), Joselito Dela Cruz (20th place) and Voltaire Marc Paraguya (21st place).

Also receiving special awards in the recent tournament honoring the late Danilo Lopez were Ferdie Bugay (top senior) Rose Ann Curioso (top female), David Ray Sarmiento (top high school) and Romulo Curioso Jr. (top novo ecijano).-Marlon Bernardino-