Post Office releases GOMBURZA stamps on 124th Independence Day

Latest News

Latest Reviews


  • Raptors smack wounded Warriors 123-109 despite Curry’s 47

    The shorthanded Golden State Warriors were pushed around by a focused Toronto Raptors squad in...

  • Boxing

  • Bakbakan sa Ilocos Sur 2022: Knockout win target ni Toyogon kontra Tejones!

    Isasagad na nina boxing prodigy Al Toyogon at kalabang Joe Tejones sa main event ang kani-kanilang natipong...

  • Golf

  • Glutamax Men strengthens hold on lead

    BAGUIO CITY—Aian Arcilla once again led with his 25 points as Team Glutamax Men soared to an 87...

  • Popular News

    Trae Young fined $25K for directing inappropriate language toward official

    The Atlanta guard has been fined for an incident after Wednesday's game vs....

    Quizon finishes first in Sabah chess; earns GM norm

    by Marlon BernardinoFinal StandingsManila---International Master (M) Daniel Quizon of the...

    February 16: O’Shaquie Foster to Defend Junior Lightweight Crown against Abraham Nova at The Theater at Madison Square Garden LIVE on ESPN

    WBC junior lightweight world champion O’Shaquie “Ice Water” Foster hopes to cool off the latest challenger...

    Post Office releases GOMBURZA stamps on 124th Independence Day

    In observance of the 124th Philippine Independence Day on June 12, the Philippine Postal Corporation (Post Office) launched the commemorative Stamps to mark the 150th anniversary of the martyrdom of Fathers Mariano Gomes, Jose Burgos, and Jacinto Zamora, collectively known as GOMBURZA.

    “The stamps illustrate the sacrifices and heroism of Fathers Gomes, Burgos and Zamora who gave their lives for freedom,” Postmaster General Norman Fulgencio said.

    Historically known as GOMBURZA, it also served as an inspiration for the country’s National Hero Dr. Jose Rizal’s historic work, El Filibusterismo.

    On Feb. 17, 1872, a Spanish court martial found three secular priests, Jose Burgos, Mariano Gomes and Jacinto Zamora, guilty of treason as the instigators of a mutiny in the Cavite navy-yard and were sentenced to public execution by garrote in the same year.

    This year’s Independence Day celebration carries the theme, “Kalayaan 2022: Pagsuong sa Hamon ng Panibagong Bukas (Rise Towards the Challenge of a New Beginning”).

    Considered as a national holiday among Filipinos, the annual observance of Philippine Independence Day was signed into a law by former President Diosdado Macapagal through Republic Act No. 4166 on Aug. 4, 1964.

    According to Philippine history, the declaration of Independence from the Spanish colonial rule was held on June 12, 1898 by General Emilio Aguinaldo in Cavite El Viejo (Kawit), Cavite.

    Post Office in-house graphic artist Israel A. Viyo designed the commemorative stamp, which will be sold at PHP12 per piece.

    Stamps and Official First Day Covers are available starting June 13, at the Philatelic Counter, Manila Central Post Office. For inquiries, please call 8527-01-08 or 8527-01-32 or follow/like the Facebook page for updates. (PR)