UAAP Season 84 Women's Volleyball: La Salle vs NU

UAAP Season 84 Women's Volleyball: La Salle vs NU

UAAP Season 84 Women's Volleyball: La Salle vs NU

UAAP Season 84 Women's Volleyball: La Salle vs NU

National University is back on the UAAP women's volleyball throne for the first time in 65 years.

The Lady Bulldogs completed the UAAP Season 84 sweep, ripping De La Salle University to cap their run, 25-15, 25-15, 25-22, in front of 12,621 fans inside the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City, Tuesday.

This is just NU's third title in the event and first since 1957 and the first tournament sweep in the league since Ateneo de Manila University did it in Season 77.

"Siguro yung pagiging coach ko nag champion pero marami kami hardships na pinagdaanan. Sobrang saya and sobrang nakakasaya para sa team, said Lady Bulldogs head coach Karl Dimaculangan.

"Sobrang saya ko po actually kasi sa training po namin halos makita po namin yung (pagod at sakripisyo), nagbunga naman po lahat," said Finals MVP Cess Robles who averaged 9.0 points and 9.5 digs in the two-game series.

Sobrang happy po kami at kay coach dahil nakuha namin yung championship crown

DLSU fought back in the third period, leading by three late, 20-17, then NU head coach Karl Dimaculangan called a timeout followed by an Alyssa Solomon point, 18-20.

Then Dimaculangan called the numbers of Joyme Cagande and Erin Pangilinan to sub for Lams Lamina and Solomon.

The Lady Bulldogs then went on a 7-0 blast through the energy of the super substitutes to move to match point, 24-20.

Back-to-back errors from NU though pulled DLSU back, 22-24, but Thea Gagate's service went wide for the clincher.

The Lady Spikers opened the game with a 10-6 lead, but it was all Lady Bulldogs the rest of the first set, going on a 14-2 blast to turn the game, 20-12 on the way to a 25-15 tally.

It was no different in the second frame as NU zoomed to a 10-3 start and never looked back, 25-15, to move on the verge of the win, the tournament sweep, and the crown.

Solomon topscored anew for NU with 18 points on 15 attacks and three blocks. Season MVP Mhicaela Belen had 16 points built on 13 spikes and three blocks.

Nobody scored double figures anew for DLSU with Gagate as its leading scorer with eight points. Gagate followed with seven points.(Dennis Lachica, Sportsmanila Photojournalist)