Boxing

VERONA, N.Y. (Jan. 18, 2020) — The first man to land his Sunday punch was going to win the fight. Former world champion Eleider "Storm" Alvarez returned from a nearly one-year layoff to knock out Michael "Cannon Handz" Seals with a single overhand right at the end of the seventh round Saturday evening at Turning Stone Resort Casino.

Read more ...

TODAY! Monday, January 13: Wilder vs. Fury II Press Conference
5:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. CT/2:00 p.m. PT/10:00 p.m. GMT

Unbeaten WBC Heavyweight Champion Wilder & Undefeated Lineal Heavyweight Champion Fury Battle in Highly Anticipated Rematch Saturday, February 22 in FOX Sports PPV & ESPN+ PPV
from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas

Read more ...

ONEIDA, N.Y. (Jan. 16, 2020) — Two days before light heavyweight rivals Eleider "Storm" Alvarez and Michael "Cannon Handz" Seals meet in a slugfest scheduled for 10 rounds at Turning Stone Resort Casino (ESPN, 10 p.m. ET), they joined forces, along with lightweight contender Felix "El Diamante" Verdejo, for a special session of "Train with the Champs" at the Oneida Indian Nation Recreation Center.

Read more ...

(Jan. 9, 2020) — The 2020 forecast is in, and “The Tartan Tornado” is coming to Top Rank and ESPN.

WBA/IBF junior welterweight world champion Josh Taylor, fresh off his tour de force in the World Boxing Super Series, has signed a multi-year promotional agreement with Top Rank. Taylor, from Edinburgh, Scotland, will make his Top Rank on ESPN debut in 2020 as he continues his quest to become the undisputed junior welterweight king.

Read more ...

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. (Jan. 9, 2020) — Jesse Hart and Joe Smith Jr. faced off two days before their highly anticipated 10-round light heavyweight showdown Saturday from Hard Rock Live at Etess Arena in Atlantic City (ESPN, 10 p.m. ET). Hart is attempting to gain a measure of revenge, as Smith knocked out his mentor and close friend Bernard Hopkins back in December 2016.

Read more ...

This is an all-British heavyweight showdown that could prove epic. Daniel Dubois, an unbeaten power-puncher, colliding with Joe Joyce, an unbeaten power-puncher. Who wins? It turns out me might get our answer sooner rather than later. Dubois’ promoter Frank Warren tweeted yesterday how he is “delighted to confirm talks are underway for a huge domestic heavyweight clash in 2020 – Juggernaut vs. Dynamite. Let’s make it happen.”

Read more ...