GM Joey Antonio wins Open Kitchen rapid chessfest

GM Joey Antonio wins Open Kitchen rapid chessfest

GM Joey Antonio wins Open Kitchen rapid chessfest

GM Joey Antonio wins Open Kitchen rapid chessfest

Article Index

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Google Plus

by Marlon Bernardino

Final Standings:
6 points---GM Rogelio Antonio Jr., Jerry Areque, FM Nelson Mariano III
5.5 points---Jose Aquino Jr., IM Chris Ramayrat, IM Ricardo de Guzman
5 points---Don Tyrone Delos Santos, Mark Christian Rodrigo, Sherwin Tiu, Genghis Imperial, Marlon Constantino
4.5 points---Jan Francis Mirano, FM Randy Segarra, Alexis Emil Maribao, NM Romeo Alcodia, Anthony Ramos, Felix Aguilera, Christopher Megino, Israel Landicho

GRANDMASTER (GM) Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr. pocketed the top honors in the Open Kitchen rapid chess tournament held at the Open Kitchen food hall 34-36 P.Tuazon Bouelavard, Barangay Kaunlaran, Cubao, Quezon City on Monday.

The 13-times Philippine Open champion Antonio collected 5 points on five wins and two draws to win the seven-round tournament which attracted 68 players in the event backed up by
Ms. China Aurelio, Mr. John Gomez and Mr. Popo Martinez of Open Kitchen, Mr. Jeffrey Dimalanta, Barangay Kaunlaran chairman Christopher "Dong" Cheng, International Master (IM) Joel Banawa of Rising Phoenix Chess Academy, Ms. Emz Forrosuelo of Otsuka-Solar Philippines Inc. (Pocari Sweat), Mega C, engr. Antonio "Tony" Carreon Balinas, ChiliJuan and Mayor Dental Clinic.

It is also suupported by Mr. Jimmy Reyes, Fide Master (FM) Teodulfo "Jojo" Nones, Mr. Edwin Llamo, Mr. Danilo Ebao of Three Knights Printing Services, Arena Grandmaster (AGM) Robert Suelo Jr., former olympian Woman National Master (WNM) Cristina Santos, International Memory champion Roberto Racasa, Arturo Turbanada and Auckland-New Zealand based Mr. Jun Isaac.

Actually, Antonio, tied for first-third places with Jerry Areque and Fide Master Nelson "Elo" Mariano III in the 15 minutes rapid time control event supervised by National Arbiters Avelino Carredo, Byron Villar and Israel "Ice" Landicho and assisted by CAUP1 Robin Asejo and CAUP1 Rogelio Baccay.

With the highest tiebreak points, Antonio took the title, Areque finished second while Mariano placed 3rd overall.

Rounding up the top 11 were Jose Aquino Jr.(4th); IM Chris Ramayrat (5th); IM Ricardo de Guzman (6th); Don Tyrone Delos Santos (7th); Mark Christian Rodrigo (8th); Sherwin Tiu (9th); Genghis Imperial (10th) and Marlon Constantino (11th).

Earlier, Ms. China Aurelio, from the Open Kitchen and youngest Woman Fide Master Antonelle Berthe "Tonelle" Racasa; Barangay Kaunlaran chairman Christopher "Dong" Cheng and engr. Antonio "Tony" Carreon Balinas; Robbie Pangilinan of Sports Manila net and kagawad Meng "Maersk" Ronquillo; Mar Aviel Carredo and Ms. Emz Forrosuelo of Otsuka-Solar Philippines Inc.(Pacari Sweat); Grandmaster Rogelio "Joey" Antonio Jr. and Bounjoure Fille Suyamin, made the ceremonial moves to highlight the start of the event.

Adjudged category winners were IM Chris Ramayrat (top senior), Bounjoure Fille Suyamin (top lady), Mar Aviel Carredo (top kiddy) and Anthony Ramos (top PWD).-Marlon Bernardino-