Atty. Gersalia leads chess entries in Tiwi, Albay chess

Atty. Gersalia leads chess entries in Tiwi, Albay chess

Atty. Gersalia leads chess entries in Tiwi, Albay chess

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Google Plus

by Marlon Bernardino
Lawyer Lawrence Earl Roy Gersalia of Bulan, Sorsogon, a former member of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines chess team during his college days will lead prominent woodpushers in the 10th leg National Executive Chess Championship dubbed as Coron Festival on August 3 and 4 at the 24/7 Balikbayan Resort in Barangay Bariis in Tiwi, Albay.

Also seeing action next month in the event supported by Mayor Jaime C. Villanueva and Tiwi Chess Club are National Master Carlo Lorena of Daraga, Albay, who is fresh from winning the 9th leg National Executive Chess Championship dubbed as 2019 Grandmaster Rosendo Balinas Sr. Chess Cup last Saturday in Lucban, Quezon, siblings National Master Ronald, Rommel and Roldan Llavanes of Naga City as siblings National Master Glennen and Atty. Rudy Artuz of Naga City, Naga City Chess Masters Association Inc. president June Haig of Naga City, Rene del Castillo of Bulan, Sorsogon, Ricardo Martin of Guinobatan, Albay, Agrifino Camposano of Camarines Sur, Jan Asor of Virac, Catanduanes, Archimedes Ballatan of Tabaco City, Albay, Architect Marvid Zuniga of Legaspi City, Albay, Woman National Master Carmelita Abanes of Daet, Camarines Norte and National Master Efren Bagamasbad of Talisay, Camarines Norte.

According to tournament organizer Alexis Orlain, the one-day rapid event is open to all qualified members of Philippine Executive Chess Association and will be played in a 6-round Swiss System format, 20 minutes with five seconds increment with the winner in the Executive division taking home P10,000 plus trophy, second place P7,000, third place P5,000, fourth place P3,000 and fifth place P2,000.

Special prizes for the Top Albay and Top Tiwi also likewise to receive P1,000 each.

The champion in the elementary division (12 years old and below) and highschool division (16 years old and below) will earn P2,000 each plus a trophies. The second placer will get P1,000 each and the third placer will pocket P500 each.

Registration for the NCFP-sanctioned event is P1,000 , on-site registration is P1,200 while annual membership is P1,000.Tiwihon players if free registration while P50 each for elementary and high school divisions.

Call or text the following persons for complete details, Alex Orlain (09084834310 or 09164220406), Atty. Cliburn Anthony Orbe (09188974410), Dr. Jenny Mayor (09351004755), Dr. Fred Paez (09212728172), Mr. Joselito Cada (09175117300), Mr. Martin "Binky" Gaticales (09998851432) and NM Efren Bagamasbad (09157209145).-Marlon Bernardino-