PINATUNAYAN ni FIDE Master (FM) Nelson Villanueva na isa siya sa Philippines’ top blitz chess players matapos magkampeon sa Penang Heritage City International Chess Blitz 2018 na ginanap sa Red Rock Hotel sa Penang, Malaysia nitong Huwebes.

Giniba ni FM Villanueva si Singaporean Ethan Xuan Rui Poh sa final round tungo sa total score 12 points sa 13 outings para makopo ang coveted title sa 124 player's field, five minutes blitz time control format.

Read more ...

SUSUGOD ang mga woodpushers sa Muntinlupa City sa pagtulak ng Muntinlupa Inter-Barangay Chess Team Tournament 2018, 1950 and below average team rating sa Disyembre 9, 2018 na gaganapin sa Dioko Pavillion Barangay Cupang sa Muntinlupa City.

Mismong sina Bureau of Immigration (BI) Deputy Commissioner Marc Red Mariñas at long-time chess supporter lawyer Vic Ulanday ang mangunguna sa pagsasagawa ng traditional ceremonial moves.

Read more ...

LAWYER Cliburn Anthony Orbe of Alphaland Corporation sealed a place in the Round-of-16 of the 2018 Alphaland National Executive Chess Championships Grand Finals, Rapid chess competition of the organizing Philippine Executive Chess Association (PECA) after posting back-to-back wins late Saturday.

Orbe will face off with Stephen Manzanero of Novaliches Novelty Chess Club being held at the Activity Hall, 2nd Floor, Alphaland Makati Place, Ayala Avenue corner Malugay Street in Makati City.

Read more ...

Some of the country's woodpushers will vie for top honors when the Christmas Blitz Chess Tournament gets underway on December 19 at the Philippine Academy For Chess Excellence (PACE) at number 56 Mindanao Avenue, Project 6, Quezon City.

Read more ...

Final Standings: (11 Round Swiss-system, 5 minutes + 3 seconds increment time control format)
8 points---Rey Reyes, Jaime Joshua Frias II
7.5 points---Arjoe Loanzon, John Franz De Asis, Arman Subaste
7 points---Arjie Bayangat
6.5 points---Dandel Fernandez, NM Robert Arellano, Cliburn Anthony Orbe

Read more ...

MANILA, Philippines--Seven-time Philippine executive chess champion Dr. Jenny T. Mayor of Mayor Dental Clinic, Atty. Cliburn Anthony Orbe of Alphaland Corporation, Dr. Alfredo "Fred" Paez of Jolly Smile Dental Clinic, Cabuyao, Laguna, Information Technology expert Joselito Cada of Quezon Province and National Master (NM) Jose Efren Bagamasbad of Galas, Quezon City are ready to face their respective opponents at the knock-out stage of the Alphaland National Executive Chess Championships Grand Finals, Last 64 of the organizing Philippine Executive Chess Association on December 1 at the Activity Hall, 2nd Floor, Alphaland Makati Place, Ayala Avenue corner Malugay Street, Makati City.

Read more ...

A chess competition dubbed as 1st Hon. Maria Teresa "Tet" Perez-Naguiat Urdaneta City Fiesta Cup Chess Challenge 2100 and below gets underway on Saturday, Dec. 1, 2018 at the 3rd floor Event Center, CB Mall in Urdaneta City, Pangasinan.

Tournament officials Edwin Ellazar and Rodney Palaming said the event is initiative of Hon. Maria Teresa "Tet" Perez-Naguiat in cooperation with CB Mall in Urdaneta City, Pangasinan.

Read more ...

JERICO BANARES said he is set for his title defence when the Senator Emmanuel D. Pacquiao 40th Birthday 10-Ball Tournament gets underway on December 5 to 16, 2018 at the Verenza Mall in General Santos City.

“I'm ready to defend it, I've been focused on this competition," said Banares, former WPA World Junior Reno, Nevada bronze medallist.

The event, hosted by Senator Emmanuel D. Pacquiao coincide of his 40th birthday celebration, offers a top purse of P700,000 in the doubles competition while top prize P500,000 going home with the winner in the singles competition according to tournament organizer Elman "Aries" Sacayanan.

Expected to provide stiff competitions are former world champion Dennis Orcollo, Carlo Biado, Lee Vann Corteza, Johann Chua, Jeffrey Ignacio, Warren Kiamco, Antonio Oacan Gabica, Michael Feliciano, Raymund Faraon, Oliver Bingcoy Medenilla, Demosthenes “Plong-Plong” Pulpul , Val Pajuay, Jonas Magpantay, Elvis Calasang, John Rebong, Rodrigo Geronimo, Patrick Gonzales and Eric E. Bayhon.

Registration fee for the singles competition is P3,000, and for the doubles competition is P6,000.

For more details, call or text Tournament organizer Elman "Aries" Sacayanan at his mobile number: 0915-570-1228 for complete details.-Marlon Bernardino-